Regarded as one of the nation’s most intimidating road venues, Texas A&M’s Kyle Field has been the home of the Aggie football team since 1905.
Kyle Field was named for Edwin Jackson Kyle, who served as Texas A&M’s dean of agriculture and athletic council president. Kyle donated a 400-by-400 foot area of the southern edge of campus that had been assigned to him for horticultural experiments.
The permanent seating on the east and west sides of Kyle Field were added in 1927 and the horseshoe was completed in 1929. The stadium was expanded in 1967 to include two decks of grandstands, and the third decks were added to the east and west sides in 1980. The Aggies played on grass through the 1960s, but A&M became one of the many schools that switched to artificial turf in the early 1970s. Grass returned to Kyle Field in 1996 and the Aggies currently play on grass.
In April of 2012, it was announced that Texas A&M University and the 12th Man Foundation engaged Populous to lead the design study phase for the renovation and redevelopment of Kyle Field, recognized as the nation’s top college football gameday experience and “Home of the 12th Man.”
On May 1, 2013, the Texas A&M Board of Regents approved a $450 million renovation of the famed stadium, to begin following the 2013 season and be completed prior to the 2015 campaign.
More information can be found online at www.kylefield.com.